Skip to content

Realizing God’s Love

December 5, 2012

IMG_9161
Growing up I always dreamed about being married and finding my Prince Charming. Even as young as three years old when I was a flower girl, I was sure that I was marrying the ring bearer when the bride said “I do” to her groom. I distinctly remember playing house when I was little and of course, I always had the perfect husband to go along with my day derma. None of that changed as I grew older either. I always dreamed about being courted and romanced by a tall, handsome, charming young man. I have to say that I was a little bit boy crazy in my middle school and early high school years. I liked only a few guys but I latched on pretty easily (it’s so embarrassing thinking back…) and quickly to those few. In total I went on two dates before my junior year of high school and neither one amounted to anything. I always thought that I would be the first out of my friends to have a boyfriend but that didn’t so much happen. Then I finally told myself to stop pursing them and allow them to pursue me. I don’t know what changed but something inside my crazy head just snapped within like a day (I’m not kidding, it really was like a day or two). I had been texting this guy from school only to find out that he liked someone else but as I was texting him this kid from youth group was always texting me, but I assumed the youth group kid was just being friendly so I was friendly back. I stopped texting the kid from school after I finally figured out that there was no hope there and then all the sudden, out of the blue, the kid from youth group asked me out on a date. Oh by the way, this kid that I’m talking about from youth group is Seth. I went on the date just because I was flattered and thought he was fun. Well that movie date (we saw which ever Narnia move it was that came out in 2010) ended up including a two hour coffee date after the movie that only ended because he had to go to work. A week and a half later he had breakfast with my dad and asked to date me. A few days after that, we are Facebook official. Eeek! My first boyfriend! Two weeks into dating we had our first kiss and about a month into dating we said I love you. When you know, you know.

Little did I know that God was slowly preparing me for this amazing man and preparing him for me. I am so thankful that I never kissed or even held the hand of another man. I feel no sadness at missing out on all the “let’s go out” stuff that happens in middle school/high school and I’m very very thankful that Seth only had a few not very serious relationships and that we’ve saved ourselves for each other. While God was preparing me for this crazy adventure, he was also preparing Seth. And boy did He create an amazing, hardworking, protective man just for me.
I am so thankful for Seth. He fights to win my heart no matter what and spoils me to no end! I also just love all the work he does at church and how much of his heart is in ministry. I grew up a pastor’s kid so I grew up working in the church and have quite the heart for ministry as well. He’s a gentleman, always opening the car door for me and carrying my bags. He puts up with the midnight calls full of sobbing and anxiety attacks and does not fuss about them one bit. Enough bragging about my soon-to-be hubby and more on the point of this post…
I cannot wait to be married to my bestest friend! Without him I know that I could not fully realize the true depth of God’s love. Before I met Seth, I always scared guys away with my…I guess we’ll say uniqueness (one guy literally told me I was just weird)…and as much as I knew that God loved me, I never understood just how much love He has for me. When I realized that Seth was not going to leave me even though I rarely stop talking and am often very, very awkward I realized that if Seth, one of God’s creations, wasn’t going to leave me even when I made a huge mistake, that God most definitely won’t leave me.
And that’s my theory. God gives us spouses in order for us mere humans to catch a teeny tiny glimpse of His immense love for us. God loves us no matter what! Seriously! He really does! Even if you think that you’re unworthy of His love think about the people around you who love you. They love you despite your mistakes, don’t they? Well there you go, if a human can forgive you then God, the one who created that friend of yours, obviously forgives you too! I never would have realized the height of God’s love if it hadn’t been for Seth! It’s just another reason why I am so thankful for the man that God created for me.
I know this is a rather lengthy post but I’m feeling very thankful right now and just had to express it somehow. For those of you that are married/engaged, do you feel the same way that I do? If so, how did your realization come about?
signature 01
One Comment leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    January 7, 2013 3:53 pm

    Ah yes, I still have letters about some of those crushes :P

Write a comment here yo!

