Skip to content

Mornings in the City

August 23, 2012

Mornings are my favorite time in Lancaster city. Six am is quiet, slow, and sleepy.  The sun has not yet risen to open the sleepy eyes. Those that are on the street are from all different backgrounds. People walking to their offices, some driving home from night shift at the hospital, or those cool kids like me going to work at a cafe. Then there are the homeless. They awaken from park benches and street corners before the rest of the world can see them. But I see them in those early morning hours.

Once seven o’clock comes around the corner the city comes alive. Pedestrians have to start looking before crossing the street since cars are rushing around with horns blaring and lights flashing. The cafe gets a rush of coffee and espresso orders and every vendor in Central Market opens their stand for business.

I love seeing this change in time. That hour change is so interesting to me. It’s hard to capture it because it’s so quick. It’s one of the things I love about my job. I see so many interesting people and learn so much about the city.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2012 12:30 pm

    That’s how I feel about early mornings! I love the quiet. It’s my favorite time of day when I’m the only one up in the house enjoying the chilly morning air. Heaven!

Write a comment here yo!

