Skip to content

Beginning of a New Life

July 29, 2012

photo source

Today I was baptized. I can’t explain my feelings right now because it’s like nothing I have ever felt before. Every emotion and thought continues to just run through my head endlessly, causing me to be speechless. I do know that what I feel is amazing. The most amazing thing in the world.

The first week our campus pastor, Eric, brought up the Baptism and Barbeque event I just felt something stirring up inside of me but I didn’t do much about it. I said something to Seth and he encouraged me to sign up immediately but I decided to wait another week and think about it. The next week during announcements I still felt something going on inside of me and it wasn’t gas. So I talked to Eric after the service and signed right up.

Let’s back up a bit. I was baptized at my childhood church by my father, who was a youth pastor at the time. Although it was my choice to be baptized I didn’t feel any different afterwards, but I didn’t realize it at the time. Since then, I have been through so much, more than a lot of people realize and I have become a whole new person. With college coming in three weeks, which is a fresh start in its self, this was the perfect time.

The second I stepped into the pool all my nerves were washed away. Eric asked us all to share a bit of our testimony but I decided to keep it short and sweet and not dwell on the past. I simply stated that the Spirit moved me to do this and that I’m ready to put away the past and start a new life. Then down I went. And stayed for a few seconds longer than normal. Eric had been joking the night before that he was going to keep me down for a few minutes. Well it may not have been a few minutes but he did keep down longer than anyone else. That’s Eric for ya. If you know him, you understand. But it was still awesome. Eric just added some humor to the insanely emotional moment.

I was also able to share the day with one of the high school girls in my school group, Leah. I didn’t cry until after she was baptized. I’m actually tearing up now, hours later, remembering it. I’m so proud of her! I have an amazing group of girls and the fact that I got to share this day with just one of them is amazing. I am so blessed by these girls. They continue to inspire me every week and are so important to me! After that, I cried pretty much every time someone went baptized.

It was absolutely breathtaking to not only see others be baptized but to also hear what God has done in their lives. About fifteen people were baptized, the biggest group our church has had all at once. And at the end Eric called anyone else who felt moved to come up. In total there were over twenty people baptized today. I’m crying right now. God has done so much in my life and I was privileged to see him work in the lives of others.

My church is on fire right now. I used to attend our main campus but I’ve been helping at our theater campus since the beginning (about a year) and in the last few months I’ve been going weekly since Seth started playing in the worship band. I am so glad I’ve come back. It’s amazing and has grown so much! Today we couldn’t even fit everyone in the theater so the kids and the band and any leaders had to stand in the hallway and watch. I am so blessed to be a part of this amazing family.

I feel like I’m in a wonderful, amazing trance right now. One that I never want to end. This morning Eric spoke about his missions trip to Kenya and how on fire he is for God. He mentioned that most people would say things like “Oh, you’ll go back to how you were before in a little while.” Like that high you get after an amazing church retreat that ends a few weeks later. Eric shared an amazing point this morning; that high should never end. We need to live our daily life like we’re high on God after a missions trip or retreat. And that’s my goal. I want the way I feel today to transfer over to tomorrow, and the next day, and the next day, and the next day…

I hope that my baptism can inspire you and show that it’s okay to be baptized more than once! God knows when you are truly ready for this new life because it is a huge undertaking! Thank you to everyone who made this day possible and thank you to everyone who has helped me along my journey. And thank you God for creating me and this beautiful life.

John answered them all, “I baptize you with water. But one who is more powerful than I will come, the straps of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie. He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire. – Luke 3:16

 

 

p.s. I’ll post a photo or two later this week when my friend Ashley, who was taking the baptism photos, posts them on Facebook! I’m so excited. I probably have a face of annoyance since Eric kept me under so long…haha

p.p.s. Yes, I go to a campus church that meets at a movie theater. I freaking got baptized outside a movie theater. How cool is that?! Not many people can say that!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    July 31, 2012 11:56 am

    tearing up. This is beautiful. Congratulations Abby. I love how God speaks to us in such individual ways and His perfect timing in our lives. <<>>

Write a comment here yo!

