Skip to content

What I’m Learning: Friendship

July 26, 2012

Welcome to the first in a new series I’m dubbing ‘What I’m Learning.’ In this series I will discuss the things I’m learning as I grow up and the things God is teaching me on this journey of life. I’m hoping ‘What I’m Learning’ can be inspiring to others and maybe even give someone advice through my lessons. I hope you enjoy it. If you don’t…well then just don’t read this series.

Friends has always been a tough topic for me. I’m a people pleaser but I’m also a leader and love people. It’s an interesting combination to say the least. I’ve had many girls that I would give the title of ‘best friend.’ But none of them have really lasted. I’ve been through friendship break ups that hurt and break me heart and break ups that simply end and neither of us really cares.

Since I’ve graduated this year I feel like I’ve lost more friends (and gained some more as well) but I almost don’t care. Throughout school I was always the one to plan outings and movie nights but I grew tired of it being so one sided. Sure, people invited me to parties at their houses but rarely was it one on one time. I’m sure you have been in that situation. Where you feel like you’re continually planning things to do and the other gal always says yes to the plans you make but never plans the next event. Because of situations like that I’ve been learning to let go of many friendships, which has been hard, but my life seems much less stressful. It’s almost petty how girls can act about things like that and I just became tired of it. I just want to say, “We always seem to have a good time but it’s starting to feel on sided. If you want to be friends…I’m right here.”

In letting many friendships go and then working pretty much all the time I haven’t been out with many girlfriends at all this summer. It’s just been Seth. Which is awesome! I love him to pieces and he’s my bestestest friend!! But he’s not a girl. And sometimes we girls just need straight up girl talk. I’ve tried doing girl talk with him. Yeah, boys just don’t understand.

Tonight I went out with a girl from high school and had a lovely evening dishing on our boys and school and just having awesome girl talk. Which I desperately needed but didn’t realize it until it happened. Tonight showed me how much I need friends in my life. Friends who will ask me out instead of the other way around. Friends that are in the same walk of life.

I’m currently reading MWF Seeking BFF, a true story about a woman on the quest for a new best friend (which sounds lame but it’s so awesome! Review coming the second it’s done!!). It’s really made me realize that I need more friends other than Seth, who all though he may be my best friend, he can’t do girl talk. And it confirmed my thought that it needs to be a mutual friendship, not one sided.

Through my friendship break ups, hang ups, and fights I’ve learned what I need in a friend as well as what I’m able to offer someone else. It really is like dating. It’s a relationship just not a romantic one so it’s going to take effort and time and commitment. Well I’m ready for it. I’m ready to be a friend again. Because I need weekly girl talk. Or else I might explode…and I don’t want to clean that up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. willowmuck permalink
    August 24, 2012 12:58 pm

    Ok I don’t want to Blog stalk you but O happened across your Blog via “I Just Might Explode” and I have found it to be entertaining and inspiring!

    • August 24, 2012 4:47 pm

      aw thank you! That means so much! Go ahead and blog stalk (secret: I do it all the time)
      :)

Write a comment here yo!

