Skip to content

Summer Reading List

July 7, 2012

There’s nothing better than sitting on the back porch with a really great book. Leaving the world behind you and becoming a different person in a different world with different loves and hates and dreams and desires. That all sounds pretty fantastic, doesn’t it? Well if only I had the time for that. Between working 30 some hours a week at the cafe, helping at church at least two nights a week, getting ready for school, seeing Seth (who doesn’t read), and of  course blogging, reading isn’t always the first thing I get to do. But yesterday I finally made time to  read a bit of Gatsby and my heart smiled. I mean like those big cheesy grins that you make when you are so elated that you can’t contain it! I realized that I need to make time for at least half an hour of reading a day. Especially since I have to read 38 books by September 18th for my list and I’ve only started like ten different books. Today I have decided to share my summer reading list with you. It’s almost shameful how many classic books I haven’t read. Especially for a future English major. And of course the classics are always insanely long, intense books that take more than three days to read even if you’re a speed reader. So wish my luck as dive into these lovely works.

– The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald

– 1984, George Orwell

– The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne

– The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho

– The Invisible Man, H.G. Wells

– Around the World in 80 Days, Jules Verne

– Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte

– I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou

– A Streetcar Named Desire, Tennessee Williams

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams

– Catch-22, Joseph Heller

– Barefoot Church, Brandon Hatmaker

– The Big Sleep, Raymond Chandler

– Atonement, Ian McEwan

– UnChristian, David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons

– Prayer, Philip Yancey

– The Complete Works of Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

– Prayer, Philip Yancey

– Beautiful Ruins, Jess Walters

– Forgotten God, Francis Chan

 

 

p.s. see photo credit here

No comments yet

Write a comment here yo!

